Instagram strives to promote virtual connections and genuine social interaction. But sometimes we come across annoying people who we’d rather not interact with. That’s where the blocking feature comes in handy.
Do you know what happens when you block someone on Instagram? Let’s find out!
- Launch the Instagram app and, using the Search function, look for the annoying account you want to block. You can also manually scroll through your list of followers to find that person.
- Go to the profile you want to block. Click the three horizontal dots on the top right side of the screen.
- You’ll see a list of options displayed. Click the Block button.
- Click Block again to confirm your action.
If I Block Someone on Instagram, Will They Know?
No, Instagram does not notify people when you block them. However, when they will not be able to find your profile, posts, or Stories, they may realize that you have blocked them.
What Happens When You Unblock Someone on Instagram?
When you unblock someone on Instagram, they won’t get a notification about it. However, you’ll have to follow them again because Instagram doesn’t do it automatically. All their likes and comments on your posts and videos are also not automatically reinstated.
Also, any messages that they sent to you while they were blocked will not be delivered either.
How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram (2022)
- Find their Instagram username in your account
- Find their Instagram profile from another account
- Use your browser to search for their profile link.
- Check your followers and follower list.
- find comments and posts
- Check shared message threads and rooms
- Track who blocked you on third-party apps
If You Block Someone on Instagram Can They See Your Profile?
No, when you block someone on Instagram they cannot see your profile, posts, or Instagram Stories.
Does Instagram notify you when you block someone?
The answer is a definite no. Unlike comments, likes, and direct messages, Instagram doesn’t send notifications when you block someone. In other words, the person will not receive a notification that you have blocked them.
If You Block Someone on Instagram Do They Unfollow You?
Yes, when you block someone on Instagram they are automatically removed from your list of followers.
What Happens to Tagged Photos When You Block Someone on Instagram?
When you block someone on Instagram, your tags on their photos will disappear and vice versa. But the blocked person can still mention your username on a post or Story. You will not be notified of the tag, though.
Also, if you like or comment on an account that both you and the blocked account follow, your interactions will be visible to the blocked account.
FAQs: What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram
Can someone still see you if you block them on Instagram?
No, the blocked account cannot see your profile, posts, videos, or Stories. However, if you like or comment on an account that both you and the blocked account follow, your interactions will be visible to the blocked account.
When you block someone on Instagram, can they still see your messages?
Yes, the blocked account can still see your direct messages to them and vice versa. But they cannot send you new messages.
If you’re in a group with a blocked account, you’ll get a message asking you if you want to stay in the group or leave it. If you choose to stay, your messages in the group will be visible to the blocked account and vice versa.
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram and then unblocks you?
When someone blocks you on Instagram, you are automatically removed from their list of followers. You cannot send them messages or view their profile, posts, or Stories.
If they unblock you later and then follow you, you’ll get a notification about being followed. So you’ll know that you were probably blocked at some point. Any messages you sent while being blocked will still not get delivered.
How can you tell if you have been blocked on Instagram?
You won’t know for sure when you’re blocked by someone on Instagram. However, if you cannot view the person’s profile, posts, or Stories and you cannot send them direct messages, then you know that you have been blocked. The person will also no longer be following you.
How do you secretly block someone on Instagram?
Instagram does not notify the person you’re blocking so it’s a secret anyway. However, if the blocked account tries to view your profile or send you direct messages, it will not be able to do so. Then they may guess that they have been blocked.
Now you know what happens when you block someone on Instagram so choose your actions wisely. Let us know if you have further questions!