It has been a while since Instagram launched its Archive feature, but do you know what happens when you archive a post on Instagram?
You can hide photos and videos from your profile without completely deleting them with the help of Archive. The selected posts will be saved in the Archive folder that isn’t shown on your profile.
Follow these steps to archive a post on Instagram:
- Head to the Instagram app.
- Click on your profile picture and go to your profile.
- Select the post you’d like to archive.
- Select the three dots in the top right.
- Press Archive.
What Happens When You Unarchive a Post on Instagram?
If you have archived a post on Instagram, it will not appear on your profile and your followers and other people will not be able to see it. However, when you unarchive a post, it will appear in its original place on your timeline and all the likes and comments you received on that post are visible back on your profile.
How to Undo Archive on Instagram
If you want to undo Archive on Instagram, then go through these steps :
- Open Instagram and head to your profile.
- Go on the three lines in the top right corner.
- Click Archive, then select Posts (iPhone) or Posts Archive (Android).
- Select the post you’d like to unarchive.
- Click the three dots in the top right, then select Show on Profile.
I Archived a Photo on Instagram and It Disappeared
After a new update, it takes a little longer to find your archived posts.
If you have archived an Instagram post, you can find it by following these steps:
1. Go to your Instagram profile.
2. Select the icon that looks like three lines and click on archive.
3. Click post to see your archived posts.
Instagram Archive All Posts
You can archive multiple posts on Instagram.
Follow these steps:
1. Click your profile picture in the bottom right and go to your profile.
2. Click the top right corner, then select Your activity.
3. Tap Photos and Videos, then Click Posts.
4. Click Select in the top right, then tap on the posts you’d like to archive.
(To filter your posts before selecting, click Sort & Filter in the top right and select your sorting preferences, then tap Apply.)
5. Click Archive at the bottom. Click Archive to confirm.
6. To turn sorting off, click Sort & Filter. Click Reset, then tap Apply.
Note: Archiving multiple posts at once is only available in the Instagram app for Android devices and iPhones.
Also read: How to Hide Posts on Instagram
Instagram Archive vs Delete
The posts you archive disappear from your profile. Although it is only hidden from others, you can still view it under the Archived posts section on your Instagram profile.
However, deleting a post is a permanent feature. The post is removed entirely from your profile and nobody including you will be able to see it. Once the post is deleted, it can not be recovered. In that case, your only option is to upload the photo/video again.
FAQ: What Happens When You Archive a Post on Instagram
Is it bad to archive posts on Instagram?
Instagram posts should be archived because when they are deleted, all the important data along with metrics are lost and are impossible to be recovered. But, when you archive an Instagram post, although it is hidden from the public, you can still retain your data.
How long do Instagram posts stay archived?
You can keep posts archived for as long as you like. You have complete control of when to restore an archived post. You can bring the archived post back to your profile by unarchiving it.
What happens if you unarchive a new post?
Once you unarchive a post, it will be restored to its original place on your timeline with all the likes, comments and shares intact.
Why do people archived posts?
If you want to remove posts from your Instagram profile, it is a better idea to archive them instead of deleting them.
An archived post still contributes to your overall account performance and individual post’s performance for the different engagement metrics can be seen.
Once a post is deleted, it will vanish forever and you will have to re-upload it later if you want to share it again.
Does Archiving Instagram Posts Delete Them?
No. With Archive, you can hide photos and videos from your profile without deleting them completely.
The Archive feature on Instagram is helpful as your selected posts will be saved in the Archive folder and aren’t shown on your Instagram profile. However, deleting a post is a permanent feature and can’t be retrieved after being deleted.
If you have further questions, please let us know via your comments.