Do you think you have been blocked by someone on Instagram? You don’t know for sure because Instagram does not send you a notification when someone blocks you. The person you’re trying to find may have deactivated or deleted their account. But there are some ways by which you can understand that you may have been blocked.
We’ll tell you how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
You can try to determine if someone has blocked you on Instagram by searching for the person’s profile.
- If it’s a public profile and you can see the posts, you have not been blocked.
- If it’s a private profile and you can see the profile along with the message, “This Account is Private,” you have not been blocked.
- If you can see the person’s profile and the number of posts published, but you can’t see the posts themselves, then the person has blocked you from seeing their posts.
- If you cannot find the profile, perhaps the person has deactivated/deleted their account.
How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Instagram or Deleted Their Account
- If you know the username of the person you’re searching for, look for their profile on an Internet browser: Instagram.com/username.
- If you are logged into Instagram, you will see an error message: “Sorry, this page isn’t available.”
- This means you may have been blocked by the person.
To confirm if the person’s account has been deleted, log out of your Instagram account.
- Search for the person’s username again in an incognito browser.
- If you cannot see the profile, the person has probably deleted their account.
- If you can see the profile, the person has blocked you.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram Message
If you have been blocked, Instagram will hide any chats you have had with the person in the past. So check your DMs.
- If you can still see your chats, then you have not been blocked.
- If you cannot see your chats, you may have been blocked.
To confirm if you have been blocked or the person has deactivated/deleted their account, check any group messages where both of you have taken part.
If you can see their name as a group participant, but not anywhere else, then they have blocked you.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram Story
Unfortunately, you cannot know if someone has blocked you from seeing their Instagram Stories.
You could directly ask someone who follows the person if they have posted any stories, and you’ll get your answer.
Also Read: How to Unfollow on Instagram
If Someone Blocked You on Instagram Can You Still Message Them
You can still send DMs to someone after they block you, but they will never receive it.
Even if you get unblocked later, those messages will remain undelivered.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram Reddit
According to Reddit users, here’s how to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram:
- Log out of Instagram and, using a browser, visit the profile of the person you’re checking up on.
- When you’re blocked, you can see the profile picture, bio, and the number of posts of the person, but you can’t see the posts themselves.
If Someone Blocked Me on Instagram How Can I Unblock?
If someone has blocked you on Instagram, the only way to get them to unblock you is to contact them:
- Through a different Instagram account. (A user may choose to block all your Instagram accounts so that you cannot contact them. Then, this method will not work.)
- Via a different social media platform.
- Via a phone call if you have their phone number.
FAQs: How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
What happens when you message someone who blocked you on Instagram?
You can send messages to someone who has blocked you on Instagram, but they will remain undelivered.
Can you see DMs if someone blocked you?
No, once someone blocks you, you cannot see any fresh chats in DMs. The previous chats will remain, though.
What does it look like if someone blocked you on Instagram?
If someone has blocked you on Instagram, you will not get their posts on your feed.
- You can see their profile picture, bio, and details of posts and followers, but you will not see the posts themselves.
- You cannot mention or tag them in your posts.
- The person’s likes and comments on your posts will disappear.
Does blocking someone on Instagram delete DM?
When you block someone on Instagram, your previous chats in Direct Messages do not get deleted.
How do you get to blocked messages on Instagram?
Once you have been blocked, you cannot access fresh messages from the person who’s blocked you. Nor can you send new messages to them.
Getting blocked on Instagram is never a pleasant experience, but not knowing for certain whether you have been blocked is worse. Try our methods to find out if you have been blocked or the person has deactivated/deleted their account.
For further questions, do not hesitate to comment.