Instagram messages let users send messages to others and share photos, videos, voices, and text messages.
In some cases, you may no longer want some of your messages and need to clear out your inbox to get rid of spam.
If you are struggling to know the process of deletion of messages. Then you are at the right place!
This is a complete guide on How to Delete Instagram Messages.
Let’s dive in!
How to Delete Instagram Messages 2022
You need to follow these step-by-step guides:
- Tap on the message icon in the top right corner.
- In Android, you need to tap and hold on to the conversation and on iPhone, you have to swipe left.
- Hit the Delete button, then tap Delete to confirm.
How to Delete Instagram Messages on iPhone
Instagram runs very smoothly on iPhones. You just need to follow these steps:
- Open Instagram.
- In the top-right corner, hit the message icon.
- On the message page, click on the icon in the top-right which is like a bulleted list.
- Click to select the conversations that you want to delete.
- Tap Delete in the bottom-right corner.
How to Delete Instagram Messages from Both Sides
It is not possible to delete entire conversations for both users at once.
Follow these easy steps:
- Open your message.
- Press and hold the message for three seconds.
- Click on Unsend.
By doing this the message will be deleted from both sides.
How to Permanently Delete Instagram Messages from Server
Yes, permanently Instagram messages can be deleted.
Strike the three dots in the top right corner of the chat you wish to delete. Select Delete Message and after Delete for Everyone.
If You Delete a Conversation on Instagram, Does the Other Person Know
Nobody will be notified if you delete a conversation. You cannot delete messages from others’ inboxes.
You cannot retrieve your messages once it has been deleted. But the other person can as they have in their inbox.
How to Delete Instagram Chat in Android
To delete, just go to Messenger then press and hold the conversation you want to delete.
Instagram has introduced the Unsend feature a few years ago. It allows you to un-send unread messages.
Here’s what you need to do:
- Tap or in the top right corner of Feed.
- Hold down the conversation you’d like to delete (Android) or swipe left (iPhone).
- Confirm the deletion by tapping Delete again.
What Happens When You Delete a Conversation on Instagram
The conversation will no longer be visible in your inbox when you delete it.
By doing this, it will delete for you but will still appear for other people included in the conversation.
In Instagram Direct, you can also unsend a message rather than delete the entire conversation.
Why Can’t I Delete a Conversation on Instagram
Here’s how to do it:
- Click on the top right of Feed.
- Click and hold (Android) or swipe left (iPhone) on the conversation which you want to delete.
- After this click on Delete, then tap Delete to confirm.
FAQ: How to Delete Instagram Messages
When You Delete a Conversation on Instagram Does It Delete for the Other Person?
No, it will not delete from their inbox. They can view the messages.
Is There a Fast Way to Delete Messages on Instagram?
Simply by tapping the message which you want to delete, and then clicking on the Unsend option, you will be able to delete the message.
What Is Vanish Mode on Instagram?
The vanish mode allows people to send disappearing messages, photos, and videos to each other. Messages sent in vanish mode disappear when someone leaves the chat or turns it off.
Can a Blocked Person See Old Messages on Instagram?
No, blocking will not allow the blocked person to see personal threads.
Does Blocking Someone Delete Messages?
No, conversation threads will not be deleted from any of the sides.
Why Can’t I Turn On Vanish Mode?
This may happen in case you have not updated your Instagram app to the latest version.
Now, you must acquire a clear idea of How to Delete Instagram Messages. Do let us know if in case you face any difficulty while applying.